Connect2 El Salvador: “A miracle happened”

A year ago, Erasmo Valiente visited Our Lady of Lourdes parish, Wanstead and Blessed Sacrament parish, Chelmsford as part of a group from El Salvador visiting Connect2 parishes.

Erasmo with Fr Pat Sammon

Erasmo with Fr Pat Sammon, Our Lady of Lourdes

He spoke about his work with farmers and women’s groups, which enables people in small, rural communities to provide for themselves and their families, and visited community projects and farms here in the UK.

Erasmo (L) with Eileen and Peter Webster and Fidel, Blessed Sacrament

Erasmo (L) with Eileen and Peter Webster and Fidel

Unfortunately, on new year’s day, Erasmo suffered an accident and we’re sure you will want to join us in praying for Erasmo and his family.

Erasmo says:

The beginning of the new year hasn’t been the best for me, but I understand that things don’t happen without a reason. God has given me a second chance of life to understand how beautiful it is to be alive.

On New Year’s Day, I suffered a fall. I was painting 5 metres high and involuntarily someone moved the ladder and I fell backwards. As I fell, I got entangled in some sharp razor wire and below there was a cement platform. I was almost certain to die because the position of my fall was head down. But a miracle happened.

Before falling, my body turned 90 degrees and this meant that I fell in a sitting position. I only remember the impact of the blow. I felt as if my waist reached my throat.

I can’t help crying when I remember this moment, because I felt as if I had died. I fainted for a few minutes and then was taken to hospital. The days when I was hospitalised were critical because I was unable to move because of the impact on my spine.

Now I am in the process of recovery with medicines and physiotherapy to recover my movement.

I will return to work soon, depending on an assessment, but God’s miracle is continuing because my health is improving and now I can sit up and walk, even though it is difficult.

Greetings to all of the dear people of CAFOD.

We wish our friend Erasmo a full recovery.

Connect2 is a personal journey between your parish and the community you support; a chance to be a part of that community’s life in the longer term. We share their struggles, hopes and dreams and share news from your parish and community life.

Leave a Reply

