Tom Jarvis, the youngest runner in the 2014 London Marathon, tells us his story

‘My Marathon journey first started last November when my bike broke and I decided to start running to keep fit. I never really planned to run seriously but saw on Facebook that CAFOD had a couple of places left in the Marathon and it seemed like a good way to support my favourite charity and have an incentive to keep on running. My fundraising started off with a Quiz when I was able to announce the exciting news that I was to be the very youngest runner as I was running two days after my 18th Birthday….. not sure that has really sunk in, even now.

From then on it’s been a busy time, being filmed, photographed, doing radio and TV interviews and I was even tweeted by CAFOD supporter Dermot O’Leary and MP Ed Balls who was running the marathon too.

On the actual day I didn’t really have time to be nervous and being a runner was even more amazing than I’d thought. The atmosphere was electric and the crowds really do keep you going. I’d naively hoped to run in under 4 hours but it was a very hot day and the last 3 miles were really hard but I still ran in a respectable 4 hours 23 minutes.

Tom supporting Marathon runners in 2010

Tom supporting Marathon runners in 2010

It felt good running for CAFOD as I’ve supported them all my life – including many years cheering other CAFOD runners along the marathon course. I know all my sponsorship will make a big difference to people living in poverty overseas, so thank you to everyone who donated. My target was £2,500 but everyone has been so generous I hope to raise nearer £6,000.

Afterwards I felt a mixture of really tired and really happy. My feet were blistered but I was looking forward to celebrating my birthday properly. I don’t plan to run another marathon in the near future but do plan to continue supporting CAFOD and cheering on other marathon runners’

See Tom’s Marathon Video here

Hear Tom’s LBC interview here

Hear Tom’s BBC Radio Essex Interview here

Why not join Tom and other CAFOD supporters at the annual Pedal Against Poverty bike ride through Lea Valley park and along the canal on Sunday 18th May. Find more details here

To keep up to date with what’s happening in the Brentwood Diocese why not join us on facebook or to receive our e newsletter email brentwood@cafod.org.uk with Newsletter please in the subject heading.

Leave a Reply

